Reading List – Classics

I’ve seen a few popular lists of classics that everyone should read and I started thinking about all of the classics that I have yet to read. While I think I read a variety of books, I clearly have my work cut out for me when it comes to the classics. 😔 I’ve read a number of them throughout school and on my own, but as I started combing through lists, I realized that I have a number of books to add to my reading list!

I’ve created a list of classics that I still need to read. I’m going to attempt to update this list a few times a year (hopefully with a few completed books!)

  • Little Men by Louisa May Alcott
  • Moby Dick by Herman Melville
  • Vanity Fair by William Thackeray
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  • Dombey and Son by Charles Dickens
  • Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens
  • The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens
  • Nicholas Nickelby by Charles Dickens
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  • Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens
  • Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  • The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas
  • Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe
  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Wings of the Dove by Henry James
  • The Portait of a Lady by Henry James
  • The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
  • Middlemarch by George Eliot
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nobokov
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  • War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  • Candide by Voltaire
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
  • Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  • The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  • Paradise Lost by John Milton
  • Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
  • The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
  • The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
  • Walden by Henry David Thoreau
Leave a Comment

