The Classics

I was inspired to get back into reading more classics from a post by The Misanthropologist.  When I look back at my completed books over the past couple of years, there have a been a few classics, but I’ve definitely been drawn to more fiction, non-fiction and poetry.  And let’s be real here – while I enjoy the classics, I need to be honest with myself and recognize that I need to be more mindful and focused when reading a classic compared to other books.  While I feel like I’ve read a number of the more “popular” classics like Wuthering Heights, Pride and Prejudice, Of Mice and Men, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Great Expectations, I have a list of classics on my “plan to read” list that I honestly wonder if I’ll ever end up reading!  I’ve also considered re-reading some of the classics that were required in school, as I feel like I would have a different perspective and really enjoy reading them now.

As I look at my shelves, many of the classics that I still need to read are pretty intimidating in terms of size (e.g. Bleak House, Our Mutual Friend, Les Miserables, Vanity Fair, Moby Dick).  After taking a look at my shelves and list of books I want to read and/or acquire, I think a few classics that I would like (and would be realistic) to tackle this year includes Mansfield Park, The Age of Innocence, Dombey and Son, and perhaps East of Eden and Little Men. We’re only a couple of weeks into the new year and I’m already wondering how I am going to finish everything I hope to read in 2017!  😔

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Classics

Leave a Comment

