Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow…

Hello! I’ve been attempting to declutter some things at home, including my bookshelves (insert dramatic gasp!).  While I love my book collection, I really started to take a hard look at some of the books I picked up on a whim or at a used book sale, thinking “some day I’ll read this…”  I’m not sure when that will happen with some of my books.  I’ve also found that while I have a core set of books, writing styles, authors or genres that I tend to gravitate towards, there are definitely some books on my shelves where I was really into a specific topic, time period, etc., and have since moved on from that focus. I’ve cleared out a few bags of books to provide a little more breathing room on my shelves… and to make room for new acquisitions, of course!  🙂

A few of the mental debates I had while sorting through all of my books included just how many copies of some books do I really need?  For example, I have multiple copies of a few Jane Austen books – leatherbound version, Penguin clothbound classics (love this series!), annotated versions, etc. I also took a hard look at my fiction books and really started thinking about how many books I would actually plan to read again – especially with the growing list of books I still want to read!  Finally, I had a number of history and reference books about similar time periods. While I’ve read some of them, I again had to ask myself whether I really intend to read all of them.  Of all of my books, my poetry collection is the one area where I could really justify keeping everything, as I often pull the books off the shelves when looking for inspiration or looking up a poem.

I would love to hear how fellow readers manage their growing book collections…

6 thoughts on “Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow…

  1. I did this recently, listed all my books, and weeded out all duplicates and those I didn’t really like, and gave them away to those who wanted them. Since most of my books are in boxes, I numbered the boxes and wrote that corresponding number next to the title of the books in that box, that way when I want to look for I book I know exactly where it is. I made an excel spreadsheet with the info too. At the time I did this, maybe around July, I had almost 800 fiction books.

  2. I am sometimes tempted, when moving out of dorm, to just leave all of my books (with a few exceptions) and start over again. Unless you make extensive notes or need them on hand, it is not difficult to get a new copy of most books–and it’s fun to buy books. And if you are especially intentional in who leave them too, you may get more people reading excellent books. When I arrived in my current dorm room, I only brought two books with–I now have a full bookcase, and am comtemplating what do as I move out this summer…

Leave a Comment

