Do You Journal?

While I continue to plug away with my reading, I’ve also been thinking that I really need to put all of my beautiful blank books and journals to good use!  In addition to collecting books, I seem to have a “thing” with writing journals and blank books.  I love to purchase them with the great intentions of getting back into writing, and then the journals sit on my shelve collecting dust.  Hopefully I’m not the only one out there with this habit!  😀

I’ve never been big on “journaling”, but I’ve started thinking that I could really benefit from this practice.  I love to write, but as I’ve mentioned in the past, I really haven’t made the time to foster and support creativity.  Part of the issue with breaking into my journals is that I don’t want to “ruin” my beautiful journals, and part of the issue is that the perfectionist side of my rears its ugly head and if I don’t have something that I think is worth saving in a journal (i.e. a great poem, thought, etc), I tear out the page.  I’ve made a few attempts at some free writing, started and then didn’t keep with a gratitude journal, and also jotted down some reflections.  I would like to get back into the practice of writing – I just need to figure out where I want to start.  Perhaps I’ll start with some of the writing prompts I’ve received from a writing class and online?

Any fellow writers or wannabe writers with tips or words of encouragement?

3 thoughts on “Do You Journal?

  1. Journaling is awesome! you don’t have to have anything epic to put into them, just write what you’re thinking at the moment. Think of it like a status update to your future self. If you can’t put your thoughts into standard prose, try haiku, or song lyrics you like, or something you heard someone else say. Draw some doodles, tape in a few photos, add in a recipe that reminds you of your mom. Seriously, you can put anything in a journal, and ten years down the road when you read it again, you will be amazed at how much you’ve changed.

Leave a Comment

