David Copperfield

I’m happy to say that I finally finished David Copperfield. It took me a while between a busy couple of months at work and also trying to multitask and read a couple of a books at the same time. I really enjoyed this book — I think my favorite Dickens book is still Great Expectations, but once I immersed myself in David Copperfield, I couldn’t put it down. The book is written from the perspective of David and follows him through his journeys in life, including various trials, challenges and successes.  There is a great cast of characters with interesting backgrounds, some you fall in love with and some you love to hate.

I’ve read different reviews and perspectives on the book, where some suggest that this book includes many autobiographical references and parallels to his life, with the “DC” of David Copperfield being Dickens’ initials. Dickens has referred to David Copperfield as a “favorite child” of his written works. Others make the argument that while it was written in the first person and there are some parallels to experiences and individuals in his life, the book portrays a blend of fiction and truth.  If you’ve read the book, what do you think?

2 thoughts on “David Copperfield

Leave a Comment

