The Bookman’s Tale

Welcome, fall reading!  It’s been a while.  And what better way to usher in the fall season than with a good book about a bibliophile and antiquarian bookseller, William Shakespeare, forgeries, and Victorian art?  I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  While it took a little while to get used to moving between three different periods in time, I became immersed in reading about book restoration, rare books, and all of the details and descriptions about books.

I also enjoyed reading another perspective about William Shakespeare, which brought up the age old question of whether Shakespeare was really Shakespeare… I found the highlights of that time period and different book collectors, booksellers, authors and artists also very interesting.  It’s been a while since I’ve read about that time period in history and it has piqued my interest.  I’ve now pulled another book off of my shelve which I have started reading – The Age of Shakespeare.  I also want to read Will in the World:  How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare.

What are your thoughts on Shakespeare?   

2 thoughts on “The Bookman’s Tale

Leave a Comment

