Juice, Juice and More Juice

Hello!  I wanted to check in and provide a quick update on my “eating clean in 2014” efforts.  To be perfectly honest, I haven’t been doing a very good job.  Still too much eating out or picking something up on the way home after a crazy day at work. As much as I try to do some meal planning, there are often discussions like “do you really feel like soup tonight?”, with a response of “I’m not sure… didn’t eat much at lunch today”, or “I ended up having soup for lunch”.  Does this sound familiar to anyone else?

One thing I have kept with?  Juicing!  I am still in the honeymoon phase with my juicer.  While it has been tougher to be organized and juice in the morning on work days, I have been juicing every weekend along with some weekday mornings or evenings.

Here are a few favorite combos:

For a “green” juice:  romaine, celery, spinach, cucumber, ginger, lemon, carrot and an apple

For a “greener” juice:  all of the above, plus some broccoli stalks.  If I have pear on hand, I will substitute the apple for a pear.
For something on the sweet side:  pineapple (great way to use the cores from a whole pineapple!), orange, pear and romaine. The romaine has a much lighter flavor when combined with the fruits – this is a great combo for introducing someone to juices.

Do you have any favorite juice combos?  What about any tips for meal planning?

Leave a Comment

