2013 Reading List – A Progress Report

I pulled up the reading list I prepared in December 2012.  I hate to say it, but it is not looking so good in terms of the books I planned to read, although I am going to meet my goal this year in terms of the number of books read…  I think part of my problem is that I get distracted with new books I’ve uncovered or learned about (or purchased!) and I also worked through a list of requested books from the library.

I like the idea of identifying some books that I want to read in a given year, but I’m also finding that it is challenging to stick to my reading list as I hear about new books or receive book recommendations.  My 2013 reading list (below) includes a number of books currently sitting on my shelf that I have started feeling a bit guilty about not reading yet.  😉   I will have to start thinking about how many books I will want to include in a 2014 reading list.

The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti
Founding Brothers by Joseph Ellis
A Cottage by the Sea by Ciji Ware
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Winter King by Bernard Cornwell
A Conspiracy of Paper by David Liss
A Spectacle of Corruption by David Liss
The Devil’s Company by David Liss
A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson
Voyager by Diana Gabaldon
Napolean’s Pyramids by William Dietrich
Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati
The Sunne in Spendour by Sharon Kay Penman
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin
Possession by A.S. Byatt
Life Mask by Emma Donoghue
Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time by Dava Sobel
Becoming Marie Antoinette by Juliet Grey
Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow by Juliet Grey
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
Requiem by Lauren Oliver
Reached by Ally Condie
The Stolen Crown by Susan Higginbotham

Leave a Comment

