Pillars of the Earth

Apologies for the mini-hiatus here.  I’ve been focused on my reading over the last month.  One of the many books on my “plan to read” list is Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.  I have heard good feedback on the book, but I just wasn’t ready to read it… (perhaps the page length was also a factor?)  🙂  All I knew about the book was that it was about cathedral building and set in England.  Usually, I will read some reviews and learn more about the book, but in this case, I decided to pick up the book and dive in.  Once I started, I couldn’t put it down.  I don’t want to spoil the book for others, so I’m not going to go into many details about the plot or characters.  The story takes place in 12th century England after King Henry’s death and captures the struggles in politics, power, church and state and the ambition, trials and dreams of a town and the building of a cathedral.  Well-written characters – those you love and want to succeed, and others that you love to hate.  I now have my eye on World Without End, which is listed as the sequel to Pillars of the Earth.  Perhaps before the end of the year…

2 thoughts on “Pillars of the Earth

Leave a Comment

