Yoga, the second time around

A few weeks ago, I dusted off the yoga mat and started doing some yoga at home to DVDs (love Tara Stiles!) and videos online.  It is amazing what a difference 10 years makes.  The last time I tried yoga (I took a few classes) was a completely different experience — while I didn’t hate it, I didn’t really feel the “connection” or love it (or understand what all the hype was around yoga).  After a decade, I decided to give it another go.  I’m not sure what it is, but I’m really enjoying it the second time around.  It could be that I am at a different place in my life where I am more open to the yoga experience (and the benefits of yoga) after setting at a desk for 8+ hours a day, stressed, and looking for ways to relax and recharge.  I plan to incorporate it into my daily life (hopefully practicing 3 to 4 times a week).

I would also like to incorporate meditation into my daily life.  I’ve been reading up on all things yoga lately, and I really see yoga and meditation going hand in hand.  For a Type A who has a hard time shutting of the brain and constantly thinking about a million things, I am really hoping meditation can help me bring focus and be more present, which I’ve expressed as a goal in the past.

Finally, with a new yoga lifestyle, I think healthier food choices seem easier.  I have noticed that after doing yoga, my body wants healthier food choices (smoothies, fruits and veggies, etc).  This is something I would like to continue to observe and I will keep you posted…

I’m currently reading an interesting book that seems to complement some of my recent experiences and focus:

Do you practice yoga or meditation?  If so, any recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Yoga, the second time around

Leave a Comment

