Spring Smoothies

In an effort to incorporate more fruits and veggies into my diet, I’ve started to get into the habit of making smoothies.  I love how quick and easy it is to throw in whatever fruit you have on hand (fresh or frozen).  It is also a great way to make use of some fruit on its last few days.  I generally start with a base of unsweetened vanilla almond milk or vanilla soymilk and a splash of orange mango juice.  Then I start tossing in the fruits and veggies.

If I am in the mood for something on the sweet side, I’ll use some banana, frozen mango, frozen pineapple and some strawberries.  Another option includes banana, raspberries and blueberries.  If I am in the mood for some greens, I’ll include some organic spinach or kale with my fruit mix.  I also add some ground flaxseed or stir in some chia seeds after the mixture is blended.

With the weather and temperatures warming up, I think I will be making good use of my blender this spring and summer.  Enjoy!

Green SmoothieWhat are some of your favorite smoothie ingredients?  

Leave a Comment

