National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month.  I enjoy reading and writing poetry, but I don’t make as much of an effort to read poetry as often as I could or should.  As part of celebrating National Poetry Month, I will dust off some of the books of poetry that I have on my shelves (collections by Emily Dickinson, collections of love poems, Pablo Neruda, Shakespeare, Frost) and would like to read a poem each day.  I might also have to treat myself to a book or two that I have on my wish list (see below).

Sailing Alone around the Room:  New and Selected Poems by Billy Collins
Love Letters (Everyman’s Library)
Eat, Drink and Be Merry:  Poems about Food and Drink
Art and Artists:  Poems
Music’s Spell:  Poems about Music and Musicians
The Poetry of Pablo Neruda
The Essential Neruda:  Selected Poems

Do you have any favorite poets or poems?

Leave a Comment

