The Good Thief

I have had The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti sitting on my shelf for over a year.  I finally pulled it from the shelf and read it last month. My first thought – why didn’t I read this sooner??  I loved it.  It was described as “Dickensian” in some of the reviews I read and after reading it, I would have to agree. The book is full of an interesting cast of characters and I liked the amount of detail and description that the author used throughout the book.  The story focuses on a young, orphaned boy named Ren who is missing his left hand.   The reader follows him on his adventures with Benjamin Nab, who says that he is Ren’s long-lost brother and takes him from the orphanage.  At this point, Ren is introduced to a very different world and there are a number of experiences that Ren faces which are a bit dark and heavy at times, including the black market, grave-digging and dealing with an interesting doctor.  However, there are also some really great moments in the story that show the test of friendship and being true to yourself. Throughout the book, Ren is looking to learn more about his past, and through the different adventures, he learns about his past and also his future. I enjoyed this book and it was a nice change of pace from what I had been reading. .

Leave a Comment

