Unplug, Disconnect, Pause, Repeat

Technology – I have a love/hate relationship with it.  On the one hand, it makes me much more efficient (such as researching and using online resources) and I can “connect”, albeit virtually, to many people (via email, blogs and online communities).  Technology provides a great way to extend your reach, whether it be people, information or resources.  For a multi-tasking person like myself, technology can also be my downfall.  I, like many others, find myself guilty of constantly checking emails and text messages – really, I am not that important that I need to be checking in all the time!  In the age of being accessible 24×7, I think that at times, technology as served as more of a distraction than a resource for myself.

As I have mentioned in a previous post, I really want to focus more on being present.  I need to make more of a conscious effort to disconnect and recharge (my mind and not my phone!) and find a better balance, including when it comes to being connected at work.  I can’t imagine not being able to check it at work at any time of day and check emails.  I think it makes me more efficient and also more manageable to catch up after being out of the office.  And to be honest, the thought of not checking in stresses me out a bit as I think of all of the emails piling up in my Inbox.  However, I do have to instill some guidelines or more conscious practices for checking in when I am out of the office.  I think I have made some good strides in this area, but need to continue to focus on enjoying my time when I am out of the office rather than worrying about what I will need to do when I return.

Anyone else who faces similar technology “challenges”?   If so, any tips on how you manage to find a good balance?

Leave a Comment

