Be Present

I was recently listening to a song that got me thinking about focusing on the present rather than always worrying about the future.  The Type A planner in me cringes at the thought of not always “planning”, but a few recent events in my life have me thinking that even with the best laid plans, you  always need to be ready for anything.

Life is short and I don’t want to look back and miss things because I was so busy focusing on next steps, whether it be at home, with my career or other parts of my life.  I am guilty of over-analyzing and over-thinking things and I have many plans and goals floating around in my head that at times it becomes overwhelming and I don’t know what I should focus on.

I am going to try to take one day at a time, slow down, and appreciate being present.  I realize that this is probably not the best time to start this with the frenzied activities of the holiday season, or perhaps it is the best time to ensure that I focus on the present.

“May you live every day of your life.”
― Jonathan Swift

Leave a Comment

