Favorite Food for Fall

As a follow-up to my post on fall favorites, here are a few of my favorite foods in the fall.  As the weather gets cooler, my favorite foods shift towards warmer, heartier meals compared to what I enjoy eating in the summer months.

I love my honeycrisp apples.  I find that I hoard them when they are in-season at the grocery stores and eat them as often as I can.  For me, they truly are the perfect apple – sweet, slight tart and very crispy and crunchy.  I also enjoy eating soups and chili in the fall.  A few favorites that have been in my cooking rotation include lentil soup, butternut squash soup, minestrone, beef and bean chili and chicken chili. Pair soup along side some warm, crusty bread and it is the perfect meal.  I also love tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches.  I had a fabulous grilled cheese sandwich when I was out to lunch with a friend that I have to re-create at home. The sandwich combined two cheeses, thinly sliced apple and honey.  Delicious. Finally, I couldn’t talk about some fall favorites without including candy corn…  Perhaps not technically classified as a food, but I have to get a small bag every fall.

What are some of your favorite foods in the fall?

 

Leave a Comment

