Shadow of Night

I have waited patiently for the second book in Deborah Harkness’ All Souls Trilogy, Shadow of Night.  This book did not disappoint!  I’ve found that with some trilogies the middle book often becomes the “filler” book, with the first book setting the stage and introducing the characters and the last book providing the conclusion and closure to all of the events.  Shadow of Night was packed full of interesting characters and a plot that really engages the reader.  I won’t spoil the book as it is hard to describe without going into more detail, but it is set in Elizabethan London and includes time travel, magic, alchemy, witches, vampires, daemons, Queen Elizabeth and other key historical figures during that time period, including Christopher Marlowe, Sir Walter Raleigh, and yes, even Shakespeare.  The author is a history professor and does a nice job of writing about a fascinating period of time in history and pulling in an engaging story and characters.  When I picked up her first book, A Discovery of Witches, I had my doubts and thought it was “just another book about vampires and witches” and once I started reading the book, I couldn’t put it down. Shadow of Night has sparked my interest in researching more about this time period and the different historical figures.  I highly recommend this book (and series) if you are interested in this time period in history or just looking for a fun, new book.

Leave a Comment

