Outlander

I recently finished reading Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  Wow – I am not sure where to start.  First, perhaps I’ll start with the fact that I decided to dive into this book after being in a reading slump, as the book was highly recommended from a friend.  Sure – I’ll dig out of my reading rut by tackling a book that is 850 pages…  This one was definitely a page turner.  It starts out in Scotland in the 1940s after the war and Claire, the female protagonist, finds herself transported to a time period 200 years earlier where she is now the “outlander” in the midst of different clans, war, and tension between England and Scotland.

This book has the combination of history, drama, romance, action and adventure to keep the reader engaged. I do have to say that this book is not for the faint of heart – there are definitely some intense scenes in the book, including violence and torture, but the level of details the author provides as it relates to the different medical terms and history during that time period is impressive.

This is the first book in the Outlander series and it looks as though the books increase in page length.  The second book, Dragonfly in Amber, is close to 950 pages and the third book, Voyager, is over 1,000 pages.  Don’t let the length of the books scare you – the different characters and all of the details included are worth it.  I plan to continue reading this series – I will have to figure out when I want to start the second book.

Leave a Comment

