A Dickens of a Time

I just spent most of yesterday transferring and organizing all of my books from one room to another room with two newly purchased six-shelf bookcases.  Of course, the first question was how to do I want to organize my books (genre, by author, by size?)  I am attempting to start off by genre (classics, historical fiction, non-fiction and one entire case of fiction).  I definitely underestimated how long it would take to get my books organized, and I’m sure I’ll be making more changes and shifting things around in the coming weeks.

I knew I had a few duplicates of some of my favorite books (different editions or publishers), but when I had all of my books in front of me, I realized I have three copies of Great Expectations by Charles Dickens… but I don’t think I can part with any of them!  One version is from the first time I ever read the book; another version is in a collection of his works, and one is The Nonesuch Dickens version, which I absolutely love. All three will now sit on what is currently my “Dickens” shelf, with books by and about the author.  I hope I am not the only one with multiple copies of some favorites?

Leave a Comment

