Book Q & A

I was talking to a friend recently about books – favorites, classics, books I still need to read, and thought I would post some Book Q & A.

Who are your favorite “classic” authors?
Charles Dickens, Jane Austen

What book(s) are you embarrassed to say that you have yet to read?
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  It seems like everyone else I know read this at some point in school.  I have it on my list of books to read and look forward to reading it!

What book(s) did you read, only to find it fell short of your expectations?
I will preface this by saying that I know I might be in the minority here… I had high hopes for The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.  Someone I know raved about the book and reads it every year.  While I am glad I read it, it just wasn’t my cup of tea…

What classics are still on your reading list?
I have quite a few classics sitting on my shelves that I plan to read at some point.  I’ve listed a few below.  You’ll see a trend here – all of the books have quite the number of pages!
Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens
Bleak House by Charles Dickens
Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Speaking of pages, what are some “doorstop” books (600+ pages) you have read and enjoyed?
The Memoirs of Cleopatra by Margaret George
The Autobiography of Henry VIII by Margaret George
Mary Queen of Scotland and the Isles by Margaret George
Helen of Troy by Margaret George
The Winter Rose by Jennifer Donnelly
The Wild Rose by Jennifer Donnelly
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – currently reading this one!

What are some of your favorite books?
I apologize in advance, but rather than retyping a list, here is a link to a few of my favorites.  I still have a number of additional favorites, but this is a good start…

Any books you would like to read again?
I really want to read Jane Eyre again.  I first read it in high school as required reading for a class. I don’t know that I really appreciated it then, or enjoyed it as much as I would reading it now.

What book(s) are on your shelf that you have been putting off reading?
Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke – I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet, but it continues to sit on my shelf.  Not sure it is the length of the book or what… Anyone who has read this?  If so, what did you think?

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – I’ve heard great reviews about this one, so I really need to make the time to read this book.

The Crimson Petal and the White by Michael Faber.  I think I am seeing a theme here… All three books are 900+ pages. I would love to hear feedback if anyone has read the books listed above and/or have other recommendations!

Leave a Comment

