Dolphin Swim

I am gripping the side of the boat as it bounces against the waves, my eye squinting as the morning sunlight reflects against the water.  It is 8:00 in the morning and we are on our way to swim with wild dolphins while on vacation in Hawaii.  This has been something on my “life list” and I am breathless with anticipation. The boat stops.  I quickly throw my body over the side of the boat, hitting the cold water while I try to mask the splashing sound. I don’t feel the cold; I only feel the adrenaline coursing through my body.  I plunge my head under the water, listening to my heavy breathing through the snorkeling tube.  I gasp at the realization that I am now surrounded by a pod of wild spinner dolphins – close to 30 of them.  As instructed, I start swimming to keep up with the dolphins while at the same time respecting their space.  I don’t think I am even aware of how quickly I am trying to move my legs as I propel myself through the ocean. I pause to look above, to the side, and below, at the beautiful creatures effortlessly gliding past me.  I realize just how small I am compared to the dolphins that surround me, but find the experience both exhilarating and peaceful.

Leave a Comment

